I Like Santa Clarita Diet

I’m gonna take a break from Politics for a moment but please believe I have thoughts about Mike Ditka, Harvey Weinstein, overdoses and Eminem.

But for now, this is my review of the Diet and bear in mind, I will spoil some shit.

So there’s a new show on Netflix that I started watching late, right.

One of my friends was raving about it and since it’s Netflix, I didn’t trust it because I’m like “anti-sex”.

But my curiosity got the best of me and I found myself watching it and almost not finishing the first episode because I thought “oh shit, Sheila’s about to cheat on her husband” (who’s a pretty understanding guy after realizing his wife is pretty much a sentient zombie).

Let me start from the beginning…

Sheila (played by Drew Barrymore) and her husband, Joel (Tim Olyphant) were initially just a spousal team of realtors who apparently did well enough to gain themselves a nice home with their neighbors, Rick (Richard T. Jones) and his wife, Ramona (Ramona Young) on their right and Dan (Rick Antonio Chavira) and his wife, Lisa (Mary Elizabeth Ellis)

I’m literally gonna include every actor/actress name in here whenever possible just in case one of the performers read this just so they know that I acknowledge their craft enough to mention them in this.

Things get wild when Sheila vomits like a FUCKTON during a sale.

I mean, it was enough vomit to actually have a discussion about.

Either way, after this, Sheila finds out that she can’t feel pain and is too in touch with her wild side which involves her going to a bar with her neighbor-wives and almost sleeping with a co-worker who was hitting on her and recommending that the neighbors get in touch with their wild side.

She didn’t sleep with him.

She fucking eats him.

Like full on cannibal style, we talking blood everywhere!

She soon realizes that she HAS to eat people to live (because uncooked meat sure as shit ain’t doing it) which makes it really hard to live between two cops!

Bear in mind, they have a teenage daughter (Liv Hewson) that kinda has to deal with teenager shit (you know, school, boys and shit like that) while also having to deal with the fact that her Mom is terribly hiding the fact that she has to eat people, her Dad is an accomplice and she just can’t help her mom in any way at the moment.

First off, the sex is discrete and between a married couple so I can overlook that, I hate sex but if it’s married people, I can sorta tolerate it because it doesn’t come across as a random hookup gone right (for the guy).

But what got me hooked on this show is the search for a reason and a cure because I can go into the whole plot and talk about Loki (Deobia Oparei), Dan’s son, Eric (Skyler Gisondo) and Lt. Dangle (yeah, he’ll always be Dangle to me), ridiculous plot aside, the show demonstrates a family element that I’m starting to see a resurgence of nowadays in most programming.

I mean, as a kid growing up, most of the shows that featured a family were usually a husband hating their wife, kids were almost never home and somehow that was funny. I be hating the “my wife” jokes because years later, it dawned on me that I’ll never have one so it just makes them sound like ungrateful pricks.

But there have been movies and shows out there that’s been showing that through some ridiculous shit, family is most important and man, this show shows it!

On top of having to prevent Sheila from doing some wild shit, Joel has to balance out ethical dilemmas on who they have to actually kill to feed her all while trying to remain good parents to a sarcastic Abby, who’s apparently smart but just don’t apply herself (like the rest of us, am I right?) enough to actually stay in school.

I like this show because as much as Abby and her budding potential romance to Eric  annoys me (if it does happen, it’ll make sense but I’ll still hate it and if it doesn’t happen, it’s probably because the writers want Abby to be a bitch in some way to make the show more relatable), I can understand why she is the way she is and I can tolerate it for the sake of the plot.

At this point, I just wanna know where this came from and I’m pretty sure there’s gonna be a bunch of seasons before we know for sure.

A lot of the best shows technically start from the ending.

Also, I’ve thought about Cannibalism in the past, not actually doing it but the overall concept of it like “who’s to say that the meat we’re eating now isn’t human”, y’know?

Aw well, either way, loving this series, can’t wait for season 2.

Also, Drew Barrymore still looks good.

Leave a Reply

